View Press Release As


Awards to Be Presented January 7, 2009 at International CES in Las Vegas Ivan G. Seidenberg, CEO of Verizon to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

New York, N. Y. -- October 27, 2008   -- The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) proudly announced the honorees for the 60th Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards to be presented at the 2009 International Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas.

Launched in 1948, Technology and Engineering Awards honor development and innovation in broadcast technology and recognize companies, organizations and individuals for breakthroughs in technology that have a significant effect on television engineering. Determined by a panel of distinguished professionals in the Television, Broadcast and New Media arena, this award is given to an individual, a company, or to a scientific or technical organization for developments and/or standardization involved in engineering technologies which either represent so extensive an improvement on existing methods or are so innovative in nature that they materially have affected the transmission, recording, or reception of television.

“These are truly dynamic and exciting times for the television industry, and these Emmy® winners were rewarded for their significant impact in enhancing the consumer viewing experience,” said Peter Price, President/CEO, NATAS. “Of this esteemed group, we are pleased to commend technology and engineering professionals who contribute to the on-going development of television."

Ivan G. Seidenberg, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Verizon Communications Inc., will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award in Technology & Engineering during the this year’s event.

Thomson Grass Valley, joined by media sponsor Broadcasting & Cable Magazine are the official sponsors of this year’s event which takes place on the eve of the opening night of CES, at The Venetian Hotel on January 7, 2009.

A detailed listing of all awards is below as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP. A list of honorees for the 60th Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards is also available on the National Television Academy’s website at

# # #

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, Technology & Engineering, and Business & Financial Reporting.  Regional Emmys are given in 19 regions across the United States. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including National Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

For more information, please contact: Paul Pillitteri, Communications – 212-586-8424